Resounding Earth

Third Coast Percussion

Third Coast Percussion: Resounding Earth


Augusta Read Thomas’ “Resounding Earth” is a work for written for the intrepid Third Coast Percussion ensemble, exploring the meditative and profound sound world of bells. An instrument that has figured prominently in Thomas’ ensemble music, bells have a broad set of associations and functions in world cultures. "Resounding Earth" reverently explores that range -- the composer writes, “ the piece is conceived as a cultural statement celebrating interdependence and commonality across all cultures; and as a musical statement celebrating the extraordinary beauty and diversity of expression inherent in these incredible objects.” This recording is being released as a two cd set, one an audio recording and the other a high definition video recording of Third Coast’s poised performance, expertly filmed and edited by percussionist/video artist Ross Karre.


Hailed by The New Yorker as “vibrant” and “superb,” Third Coast Percussion explores and expands the extraordinary sonic possibilities of the percussion repertoire, delivering exciting performances for audiences of all kinds. Since its formation in 2005, Third Coast Percussion has gained national attention with concerts and recordings that meld the energy of rock music with the precision and nuance of classical chamber works. These “hard-grooving” musicians (New York Times) have become known for ground-breaking collaborations across a wide range of disciplines, including concerts and residency projects with engineers at the University of Notre Dame, architects at the Frank Lloyd Wright School of Architecture, astronomers at the Adler Planetarium, and more. Third Coast Percussion has been the Ensemble-in-Residence at the University of Notre Dame’s DeBartolo Performing Arts Center since 2013. Third Coast has commissioned and performed world premieres by many of today’s leading composers, including Augusta Read Thomas, Timothy Andres, Glenn Kotche, David T. Little, Marcos Balter, Ted Hearne, and ensemble member David Skidmore. Third Coast’s recent and upcoming concerts and residencies include the Ecstatic Music Festival (New York), Atlas Performing Arts Center (Washington, D.C), the University of Chicago Presents, the Museum of Modern Art (New York), the Austin Chamber Music Festival, Millennium Park “Loops and Variations,” the Kennedy Center’s Millennium Stage, and more.
Augusta Read Thomas is among the most sought after composers working today. Her music has been commissioned and performed by the world’s leading orchestras, chamber ensembles, and soloists. Thomas was Mead Composer-in-Residence with the Chicago Symphony Orchestra from 1997-2006. Her piece “Astral Canticle” was one of the two finalists for the 2007 Pulitzer Prize and “Colors of Love”, an album featuring Thomas’ work performed by Chanticleer received a Grammy Award in 2007.

Cookies are disabled

In order to use this system you must enable cookies.
Track Time Preview Cost +Add
1 Invocation: Pulse Radiance 7:59 $2.09
2 Prayer: Star Dust Orbits 8:55 $2.09
3 Mantra: Ceremonial Time Shapes 9:02 $2.09
4 Reverie Carillon: Crystal Lattice 7:39 $2.09

This page has been viewed 1,152 times.

  • Download Booklet (PDF): fcr137_booklet.pdf
  • MP3, ALAC, FLAC for full album purchases. FLAC for singles.
  •  Time Out Chicago

    The decay of a bell ring can be mapped linearly, but the resonance of struck metal contains in it an element of eternity, floating away rather than being extinguished. Augusta Read Thomas’s new four-movement commission for Third Coast Percussion, Resounding Earth, embraces the spiritual connotations of these instruments with titles “Invocation,” “Prayer,” “Mantra” and “Reverie Carillon.” The exuberant trades and dueting of the opening “Invocation” lift skyward as though each bell were tethered to a helium balloon. The dynamic range on display throughout the album further magnifies the elysian quality of Thomas’s writing, and Third Coast’s performance is as synchronous as it is dramatically fertile. Toss out those Deepak Chopra guided meditations cassettes and find a true state of bliss (with 100% less synthesizer) in Resounding Earth.

    Chicago Reader

    Chicago's premier percussion ensemble tackles a commission from Augusta Read Thomas, formerly a Mead Composer-­in-Residence with the CSO and now a professor at the University of Chicago. The four-movement Resounding Earth is built around the ringing, tinkling, and clanging of bells (though lots of other metal percussion turns up as well), with tones both terse and sustained. The CD comes with a DVD shot while the group recorded the work, which gives you a look at the meticulous integration required by the score—all four Third Coast members stay feverishly busy weaving together the music's layers of rude impacts and serene resonances.

    - Peter Margasak